Metanormative Contents of the Principles of Just War.

Metanormative Contents of the Principles of Just War.

DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2002.03.06

For citation:

Apresyan R.G. Metanormative Contents of the Principles of Just War. . – Polis. Political Studies. 2002. No. 3. P. 57-71. (In Russ.).


The author puts forward and substantiates, applying extensive historical material, a hypothesis according to which it is a transformed version of talion that underlies the complex of principles of just war. First of all, initial evaluative qualifications of war itself (such as different variations of militarism vs. pacifism opposition) are discussed. The article formulates a broad definition of war as any violent acts between political formations. Certain concrete principles of just war are described, from its declaration by legitimate power up to commensurate degree of severity in military operations. The author concludes that talion is a form of repressive justice, it is reserved in modern political culture for dealing with those who reproduce the archaic ethos of force in their thinking and conduct.

 Full Text (Электронная версия)

Content No. 3, 2002

See also:

Sorokin K.E.,
Russia and the Play of Geopolitical Interests in the Great Ocean Area. – Polis. Political Studies. 1994. No4

Barsukova S.Yu.,
Problems of Refugees and Emergency Migrants in the Mirror of Ideologies. – Polis. Political Studies. 1999. No5

Pastukhov V.B.,
From Statehood to the State: Europe and Russia. – Polis. Political Studies. 1994. No2

Laslo E. ,
Birth of a World - Birth of a Science - Birth of an Age. – Polis. Political Studies. 1993. No2

Pshizova S.N.,
Democracy and Political Market in a Comparative Perspective (II). – Polis. Political Studies. 2000. No3



   2024      2023      2022      2021   
   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991