The Evolution of Global Politics

The Evolution of Global Politics

DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2005.03.06

For citation:

Modelski G. The Evolution of Global Politics . – Polis. Political Studies. 2005. No. 3. P. 62-82. (In Russ.).


"In the article by George Modelski, a well-known American researcher, author of a number of scholarly writings in history and theory of global politics, with the Russian translation of which we are acquainting the readers, the many years of his work in the sphere of studying the long cycles and the evolution of global politics have been summed up and prospects outlined for further investigation of spatial-temporal dimensions of the world political process. In the first part of the article, being published in this issue, the causes of rise and fall of world powers are analyzed within the concept of long cycles. The long cycle is interpreted by the author as a four-phased process about 110 years long, through which the global leaders are selected. According to the author’s conclusion, in order to successfully pass the selection process, the future global leader must satisfy four conditions: (1) politico-strategic organization for global reach

Content No. 3, 2005

See also:

Weber M.,
Russia's Transition to Pseudoconstitutionalism. – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No2

Brinkman von A.,
Unauthoritative Laws (To the Psychology of Russian Executive Power) (Foreword by I.L. Belenky). – Polis. Political Studies. 2006. No1

Massing O.,
Domination. – Polis. Political Studies. 1991. No6

Aron R.,
An Essay on Liberties: A Universal and Unique Formula of Liberty Does Not Exist. – Polis. Political Studies. 1996. No1

Bruder W.,
Bureaucracy. – Polis. Political Studies. 1991. No5



Introducing an article

Polis. Political Studies
5 2012

Kulikov V.I.
The world public forum «Dialogue of civilizations»

 The article text


   2024      2023      2022      2021   
   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991