One modernity or «a multitude»?

One modernity or «a multitude»?

Martyanov V.S.,

Cand. Sci. (Pol. Sci.), Associate Professor, Deputy Director, Institute of Philosophy and Law, Russian Academy of Sciences (Ural Branch),

elibrary_id: 223692 | ORCID: |

For citation:

Martyanov V.S. One modernity or «a multitude»? – Polis. Political Studies. 2010. No. 6. P. 41-53. (In Russ.)


The article posits: intensive globalization of the Modernity as dominant political project of the present time, though it may be taking place in a variety of institutional forms in different regions of the world, yet presupposes preserved unity of its value core. The institutional diversity of Modernity is not determined by specific features of preceding cultural development of the corresponding regions of the world, but first of all, rather, by the historical un-simultaneity of their development.

Content No. 6, 2010

See also:

Martyanov V.S., Fishman L.G.,
Overcoming capitalism: from moral collapse to moral revolution?. – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No1

Stepanyants M.T.,
Sociocultural bases for the modernization of India. – Polis. Political Studies. 2012. No1

Martyanov V.S.,
The Global Modern, postmaterial values and periphery capitalism in Russia. – Polis. Political Studies. 2014. No1

Fishman L.G.,
Liberal consensus: the drift from neoliberalism to communitarianism?. – Polis. Political Studies. 2014. No4

Wittrock B.,
Modernity: One, None, or Many? European Origins and Modernity as a Global Condition. – Polis. Political Studies. 2002. No1



Introducing an article

Polis. Political Studies
2 2002

Pshizova S.N.
Financing Political Market: Theoretical Aspects of Practical Problems (II)

 The article text (электронная версия)


   2023      2022      2021   
   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991