Memorizing Vadim Tsymbursky

Memorizing Vadim Tsymbursky

Khatuntzev S.V.,

Cand. Sci. (Hist.), Assistant professor, Russian History department, Voronezh State University,

For citation:

Khatuntzev S.V. Memorizing Vadim Tsymbursky . – Polis. Political Studies. 2013. No. 3. P. 155-163. (In Russ.)


The critical review is devoted to the memory of the Russian political thinker and philosopher of culture Vadim Tsymbursky (1957-2009). It is the publication of the monographic intellectual inquiry into the prominent researcher’s heritage – inquiry realized by B.V. Mezhuyev (Б. Межуев. Политическая критика Вадима Цымбурского. М.: Европа, 2011. – 200 с. – B. Mezhuyev. Vadim Tsymbursky’s Political Critique), that gave a chance to investigate the genesis of Tsymbursky’s concepts – first of all that of “the Island of Russia”. The author of the book has also analyzed many of the scientist’s ideas, in particular: of Russia’s imperial origins as of the product of Russian Europeanism; of adequate attitude toward the changes of early 1990s; of civilizational geopolitics, etc.

Vadim Tsymbursky; geopolitics; political critique; “the Island of Russia”; civilizational geopolitics; “geoapocalypsis”.

Content No. 3, 2013

See also:

Busygina I.M., Okunev I.Yu.,
Spatial distribution of power and strategies of states or what and how geopolitics explains. – Polis. Political Studies. 2014. No2

Buzgalin A.V., Kolganov A.I., Barashkova O.V.,
Russia: New Imperialist Power?. – Polis. Political Studies. 2016. No1

Isayev B.A.,
Geopolitics: classical and modern. – Polis. Political Studies. 2011. No2

Klemeshev A.P., Vorozheina Ya.A.,
National-Conservative “Turn” of Poland in Geopolitical Context. – Polis. Political Studies. 2018. No5

Khatuntzev S.V.,
The West and the “Eurasian Quadriga” (Russia, China, India, Iran). – Polis. Political Studies. 2015. No6



   2024      2023      2022      2021   
   2020      2019      2018      2017      2016   
   2015      2014      2013      2012      2011   
   2010      2009      2008      2007      2006   
   2005      2004      2003      2002      2001   
   2000      1999      1998      1997      1996   
   1995      1994      1993      1992      1991